Texas Summit Produces FOUR Austin Award Winners



September 22, 2017


USTA Texas is pleased to announce the eight recipients of the 2017 Community Development Awards.

The USTA Texas Community Development Awards recognize applicants who portray excellence in the tennis community through individual and organization/program awards. The full description of each award can be found on the Community Development Awards page.

“This past year, we’ve seen our tennis communities make incredible strides in programming, outreach, volunteerism and so much more,” says USTA Texas Community Services Manager Alexandra Trobough. “I’m honored to have such amazing advocates be a part of our Texas Tennis Family.”

Rosie Garza received the Partner Organization of the Year award for Courtyard Swim & Tennis Club in Austin. Presenting the award is Van Barry, ED of the USTA-Tx section, and Emily Schaefer, President of the USTA-Tx Board

The following people/organizations were selected as the 2017 winners:

2017 Individual Award Winners:

Volunteer of the Year – Karen Brooks, Austin

High School All-Star No-Cut Coach – Stacy Bryan, Abilene High School (Abilene)*

Advocate of the Year – Erinn Murray, Spring Branch

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year – Mark Hodge, Dallas*

Karen Brooks received the Volunteer of the Year award from Van Barry and Emily Schaefer

2017 Organization/Program Awards:

CTA of the Year – Dallas Tennis Association, Dallas*

NJTL Program of the Year – Central Texas Tennis Association, Austin*

Youth Excellence Program – Rippner Tennis, Austin

Partner Organization of the Year – Courtyard Tennis & Swim Club, Austin

*These award winners will be the USTA Texas nomination for the USTA National Award

Sarah Pernell, President of Central Texas Tennis Association, received the NJTL Program of the Year award from Van Barry and Emily Schaefer


Michael MacVay, on behalf of Rippner Tennis, received the Youth Excellence Program of the Year award.


Scroll to Top