Q: Will the 12 month rolling standings that were published on 9/14/2015 be the ones that are used to determine the top 8 for the 2015 Master’s tournament?
A: NO. A special ranking report dated 9/14/15 is published. It is called the Texas Selection List. Instructions to access this report are in the NOTES portion of the tournament homepage.
Q: If I forget to register online by 11:59 p.m. on or before the tournament deadline and I am in the top 8 in my division, will I receive an invitation to play?
A: Absolutely positively NO. YOU MUST ONLINE REGISTER ON OR BY DEADLINE EACH YEAR TO QUALIFY FOR ENTRY. ABSOLUTELY NO LATE ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED.
Q: If I am not currently in the top 8 in my division is there any point in me registering for the tournament?
A: MOST DEFINITELY…REGISTER! It costs you nothing. While your credit card information is obtained for tournament registration, it will ONLY be billed upon Tournament Director selection. Soon after registration deadline, players will receive a Congratulatory or Regret email regarding their entry registration once the Tournament Director Selection process is completed. Injuries regrettably occur in our sport as do illnesses. If a player’s partner has to withdraw from doubles, the remaining partner MUST choose from players already REGISTERED for this tournament. This is another reason to register. Substitutions like this happen every year and if the person you want to play with isn’t a registered applicant, they are not eligible to play (NO LATE ENTRIES ACCEPTED).
Q: If I am not in the top 8 in doubles, and one of the top 8 selected another in the top 8 to partner with, will you go down the rankings until 8 doubles teams have been selected?
Q: I am tied in the rankings with another person. How will ties be broken to determine who will be invited?
A: Ties are broken first by head to head play. Second by the best win/loss ratio of matches actually played. Third by the highest point win in a single tournament. The Tournament Committee shall then use a random drawing among any remaining tied players.
Q: Can I select a doubles partner that I have not played with in the ranking year?
A: Yes, but the partner you select MUST have played in a USTA sanctioned tournament within your level or above in the 12-month rolling window. Self-rating rules apply to selected partners.